Ending in an Ally's Square

Ending in an Ally’s Square: House Rule

A character can end his/her turn in the same grid square as an ally and still perform non-combat actions (cast heal spells, help lift a portcullis, hold a door, etc.)

The end square is considered difficult terrain (x2 movement cost to enter) and both characters in the ending square receive a -4 penalty to their AC as though they were squeezing through a tight space. Neither character can attack until at least one leaves the square.

A maximum of 2 medium or small-sized creatures can squeeze into a single square.

The impetus behind this house rule is that human-sized beings do not actually take up 5 feet of space if they are just standing around. They may have difficulty swinging a sword, or dodging an attack if they don’t want to trip over their friend, but they can squeeze in shoulder to shoulder if necessary.

Special Thanks to gnunn and his campaign page The Westerlands for posting these rules.